Multiple registers one genius
  • wildman
    New User
    New User
    Posts: 151
    Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:58 pm
    Location: Bloomington Indiana
    Contact:

    Multiple registers one genius

    by wildman » Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:21 am

    The newest e-mail from Retail Edge concerning EMV says the Genius being a IP devise can be used by multiple terminals. We only have 2 registers(terminals) and primarily use just one, how do we set it up so that the second register can use the Genuis if needed also?
  • User avatar
    RetailEdge Moderator
    Site Admin
    Site Admin
    Posts: 1298
    Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:02 pm
    Location: Rutland, VT
    Contact:

    Re: Multiple registers one genius

    by RetailEdge Moderator » Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:58 pm

    Glad to see that someone reads the e-mails. I have always thought that we should sneak something in to the e-mails and give away a prize for the one who finds it. But no one here thought that was a good idea.

    Anyway, the Genius device is just an IP device and so all you need to do is setup the secondary workstation just like the first. RetailEdge will talk to the device just as if it were attached directly to the machine.

    You will however still need to consider flow and make sure the right customer is paying for the right transaction.


    wildman wrote:The newest e-mail from Retail Edge concerning EMV says the Genius being a IP devise can be used by multiple terminals. We only have 2 registers(terminals) and primarily use just one, how do we set it up so that the second register can use the Genuis if needed also?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests