|
<< Click to Display Table of Contents >> Navigation: Inventory > Purging Inventory |
Purging inventory will allow you to remove items that have not had any action (receiving, sales or editing).
To do this:
| 1. | Choose Purge | Inventory from the Tools menu item. |
| 2. | Press the Next button to display the Purge Criteria page. |
| 3. | Press the Set Purge Filter Criteria button to display the Filter Screen choose Last Action Date and then choose the date through which you want to purge. By default the filter will include the Classes, Department, and Vendor filters. These filters are set to exclude all departments, vendors and classes to keep users from inadvertently deleting inventory data. If you are sure you want to purge data, either remove these filters or replace them with the desired departments, classes, and vendors. |
| 4. | Press the Ok button to set the filter criteria and then the Next button to display the Run Purge page. |
| 5. | Press the Run Inventory Purge button to run the purge. |
Any item that has not had any action through the date you choose and has a quantity of 0 or less will be purged.
Items that have been purged will still be available for receiving reports and sales reports but will not be available for sales or viewing or editing in the Inventory Manager. However, if an item has been it can be added to receiving and purchase orders. Placing this item on a purchase order or adding it to receiving will "undelete" the item.
Note: Before purging you should do the following:
| 1. | Backup your data |
| 2. | Print all appropriate reports for the period that you are purging. |