Purging Data

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Management Tools >

Purging Data

As you run RetailEdge for a longer period of time, it can be useful to purge data from your system.  This can:

 

1.Reduce the file sizes making them easier to view.

 

2.Speed up reporting functions by reducing the amount of data that needs to be analyzed and displayed.  This applies to all purges.

 

3.Remove old data that will not be used anymore.

 

4.Reduce the amount of file space required by the RetailEdge data.

 

Most purges do not remove data and just hide it so that it can be used in reports.  

 

The exceptions are the Inventory Quantity Log , the Log Files, and the Sales History Files purges.  These purges will remove data.

 

1.Log Files are files that RetailEdge creates when an action is performed in the program. When a user deletes or changes an item, adds an item to PO, or edits a customer, etc. a record of the change is created.   This file can be useful for troubleshooting problems, but if you don't need it (most people don't), the Log File purge can be used to safely delete these files.  RetailEdge will warn you when this file gets large and you should consider purging.

 

2.RetailEdge's inventory tracks every quantity adjustment and uses these adjustments to calculate the current inventory quantity.  Over time this file can become large, especially for businesses with a lot of inventory movement.  The Inventory Quantity Log purge will consolidate these quantity adjustments into one record.  This can save a lot of space but will remove your ability to track historical inventory adjustments.

 

3.The Sales History files can become large in businesses with large transactional volumes or with tickets with large numbers of items.  Over time this can slow down your sales reporting and take up a lot of drive space.  The Sales History File purge will remove sales information older than a specified date.  In a multi-location business you will need to run this purge in each location.

 

You can purge data by choosing:

 

1        Log Files

2.        Customer

3.        Loyalty Dollars

4.        Store Credit

5.        Gift Cards

6.        Inventory

7.        Inventory - Quantity Log

8.        Sales History Files

 

from the Tools|Purge menu item.

 

Note: Before purging you should do the following:

 

1.Backup your data.

 

2.Print all appropriate reports for the period that you are purging.